New year’s resolutions and all that jazz

Can you believe the year is about to end? It’s cliche, I know, but this year was the fastest I have ever known. Last time I checked the calendar, it was September!

And since it’s a time for fresh starts, I have been thinking about my intentions for the new year. I am always a little sceptical about resolutions as they almost always fly out the window one week into the new year. Then again, starting this blog was a resolution I made back in 2009 and it has turned out to be a life-changing one.

The list this year is quite long but it can be condensed to the following (and I’m writing them here to hold myself accountable):

  • Learn a new language. I hope to stick to this one, both because languages are my passion and also because my brain is in dire need of some serious stimulation.
  • Start practising daily yoga again. I cannot put in words how wrecked my body feels right now and I know that only yoga will help me regain some flexibility and core strength while helping me relax. Ivy has been unwell and will only stay in my arms. Luckily, I wear her most of the time but she’s at that stage where she will want to be put down on the floor, then want to be picked up a few seconds later, only to want to crawl again a minute after that. Who needs a gym?
  • Take better care of myself. It’s easier said than done, but I need to make self-care a priority. I feel incredibly lucky to have been given three daughters and would not change that for the world, but there are days I envy younger women who haven’t started their family yet and have time for themselves (even though we all seem to put our own needs on the back burner). Most days, I feel pulled in so many different directions that the last thing I have the energy or time to think about is my own health and wellbeing. I am very aware that the family’s wellbeing depends a lot on mine, but I have yet to get over mummy guilt and feel entitled to having some time for myself.
  • Date my husband more. He works around the clock. Literally. On the ferry most nights/very early mornings, photoshoots/weddings during the day and editing photos the rest of the time. And he never complains (unlike me). I don’t want our relationship to be put on hold until the children are older. We don’t know how much time we are given in this life and now is all we have. It might feel like an impossible task to find a gap in the week to dedicate to us, but when the girls leave the nest in a few years, it will be just us and the foundation for the future is to be built today.

What about you? Have you made any resolutions for 2016 yet?

image from juxtapoz.com
image from juxtapoz.com
What are your thoughts? Share them here!

