Mondays with TED

Today’s talk is one that left me in awe. I’m not tech-savvy at all and find people who are to be incredibly fascinating.

Take Luis von Ahn and his team. They invented the CAPTCHA. I know that most of us are put off by the mere mention of it, but their invention helps protect hundreds of thousands of websites everyday.

Then, just because they could, they came up with the RECAPTCHA, which is pure genius. If you don’t know what RECAPTCHA does, listen to this talk and wonder at the brilliance of this idea.

That, however, is not all. Von Ahn and his team went one step further and came up with Duolingo (which I am using to learn Swedish), another way of hitting two birds with one stone.

I know I sound a little vague, but I want you to hear how it all works from the mastermind behind it. I promise it will leave you feeling inspired. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

