Mummy talk: Francesca’s morning routine

I recently noticed that one of my most frequent searches on Pinterest is morning routines and how to maximise the first few hours of the day. For me, there is nothing worse than feeling disorganised first thing in the morning. When that happens, I spend the rest of the day in a foul mood, trying to catch up.

So, in my bid to nail down the perfect morning routine that will allow me to feel in control (I’m all about control these days), I turned to a few friends whom I admire and feel I could learn a thing or two from. I chose to interview mums because my days are practically dictated by my children at this point in my life and I am interested in knowing how other parents manage the juggling act that is raising humans while having a life of their own.


Name: Francesca

Age: 34

Job: Kids fashion and lifestyle blogger (Gaia and Nina)

Mum to Gaia (2) and Nina (1)

1. Do you consider yourself a morning person?

Yes! Definitely love my mornings.

 

2. At what time does your alarm go off in the morning?

It doesn’t! My daughter Nina is my alarm clock and she wakes up between 5:30am and 5:45am everyday, no matter what time she sleeps!

 

3. What’s the first thing you do when you get out of bed?

Get Nina her milk from downstairs, warm it up and feed it to her…then coffee! My coffee machine is on my bedside table! Gaia has now learnt how to make me coffee by pressing the button, so when she is up, I get a second espresso.

 

4. What do you have for breakfast?

Coffee…then another coffee and maybe a bite of whatever the kids are having. Oh and now I’ve started to drink wheatgrass – it tastes like crap but it’s good for you.

 

5. Is there anything you do in the evening to save time the following morning?

No, nothing. I make sure the baby bottles are washed so they don’t stink but that’s about it.

 

6. Can you describe your morning routine?

Nina wakes up at 5:30am and has her milk. At 6:30am Gaia wakes up. I bring her into our bed and we all watch TV. Well, Gaia watches it as I chase Nina around the room! At 7:15am I give them both breakfast and then it’s playtime. 9am is Nina’s bathtime, after which she naps till 10am. 9:30am is Gaia’s bathtime. Then we play till 11:45am and have lunch at noon.

 

7. Do you have any tips you feel are worth passing on?

Routine is key with my kids! When they are not following the above routine life is so much harder! They are tired and become very uncooperative.

IMG_9892
Francesca

Thank you for sharing your morning routine, Francesca! I think the coffee machine on the bedside table is a stroke of genius!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

