Mummy talk: Clare’s morning routine

This week’s chat is with Clare, a mum of two living in Dubai. Hers is the last post in the Morning Routine series, but another series will start soon.

Meanwhile, I would be very happy to know about any suggestions you might have for upcoming blog posts/series. I am genuinely interested in the way other people live, especially those living in similar circumstances (i.e. trying to keep sane while raising small human beings and working, be it at home or outside the home). If there are any persons or subjects you want me to write about, just drop me a line (islandfairy@hotmail.com) or leave a message on my Facebook page.

Enjoy reading about Clare’s mornings!


Name: Clare

Age: 33

Job: Organiser Extraordinaire [Flip Flops and Flying Carpets]

Mum to Emily (5) and Adam (3)

1. Do you consider yourself a morning person?

I am both a morning and an evening person (yes I do get burnt out from time to time). I’ve never been one for lie-ins. I like getting up at a reasonable time and getting my day started. I feel that if the pace of my day starts out slow, a good portion of the day gets wasted. So to answer your question, yes I am a morning person. I like to get up and get moving.

2. At what time does your alarm go off in the morning?

My unofficial alarm clock is my son who gets up at 6:20am and runs in shouting “Sun’s up!” (thanks to his GroClock). Every now and then he will sleep in until closer to 7am (sometimes 7:15am – can you hear the angels sing?), so for those days I have my official alarm clock set to go off at 6:30am. My daughter almost always sleeps until 7:15am, despite her GroClock also waking up at 6:20am. My ideal morning would see me waking up 15 minutes before the kids to be able to wake up quietly and get dressed in peace, but that very rarely happens!

3. What’s the first thing you do when you get out of bed?

First thing I do is get the kids dressed, then they play while I get ready and then we all go down for breakfast together.

4. What do you have for breakfast?

A coffee and whatever happens to be available. I’ve never quite worked out what I actually like eating for breakfast. Sometimes I’ll have a slice of toast, on a less rushed morning I might take the time to make myself a treat of mashed avocado and poached egg on toast, but all too often I just stop at the coffee which keeps me going until around 9:30am.

5. Is there anything you do in the evening to save time the following morning?

Definitely. I’m very big on planning, it makes things easier so I wouldn’t dream of not doing it and once you get used to it it only takes minutes. I always prepare the kids’ clothes for the next day in their rooms before they sleep. Apart from me not needing to use the extra mental energy that early in the morning, it means that I can just ask them to go and start getting dressed alone if I need to, and everything is ready and waiting for them.

I will also prepare their school bags. PE bags on PE days, library book, show and tell choice of toy/book/random household object on their respective days. My kids’ school provides lunch so I don’t need to think about that luckily. If we’re going to the beach the next morning, I’ll prepare the beach bag, water bottles, and whatever snacks I can get ready in advance.

6. Can you describe your morning routine?

Wake up, get dressed, go downstairs, eat breakfast, let the kids play for a few minutes, get my daughter to stop playing long enough for me to tame her hair, leave for school at 8am. During the summer holidays, the routine slows down by about an hour (they get more playtime) unless we’re going to the beach and then we try and get out as early as possible to beat the Dubai heat!

7. Do you have any tips you feel are worth passing on?

A little bit of preparation goes a long way. And get out of your pjs as early as possible, mentally this snaps you out of zzz mode to be ready for the day ahead.


Thank you, Clare! I always knew you were very organised (and that’s why I asked you for your tips)! I really need to get my act together and prepare all school bags the night before. It’s always a mad scramble in the morning! Also, how lucky are you not to need to worry about school lunches?! 

12316305_10153788473300818_6757906763916442210_n.jpg

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

