Back to basics

Here’s the thing. When I started writing Island Fairy, it was a completely different creature. It was a sort of diary where I would drop a few lines each day, recounting the events of the day or things that were taking up the most space in my mind (like THIS, for example). I was a newlywed doing a job I could barely tolerate and most of my energy went towards raising my then only child who was four years old.

A couple of years later, social media ‘outed’ my humble blog, leading to a growth in its readership which, in turn, led to several crises. I felt like an impostor. I felt self-conscious. I was afraid the new readers would think me vain for writing about my life. I was just another mum trying to juggle work and family, living the most uneventful of lives. I was extremely aware of the fact that many of the people who were now reading about my daily struggles also saw me buying groceries at the supermarket or picking my children up from school. I overanalysed everything I wrote before I hit publish and, for a while, I lost joy in blogging. I still wrote but most of what I did write never made it to the computer screen.

I have now reached a point where writing is no longer just an option. It is a need as much as eating and sleeping are. I could write elsewhere (and I do, both on paper and on another secret blog) but Island Fairy (the name of which I don’t particularly love anymore) is still very close to my heart. When I share something here, I know I am sharing it with those people who have supported me from the first day (here’s looking at you, Mark). I know that there are readers who look forward to reading new posts and always make sure to show me their love and opinions after reading my latest rant.

You must be wondering what I’m trying to say. Well, I’ve decided to try blogging more frequently again. I won’t only hit publish on the posts which make it through my vetting system. I will include thoughts and anecdotes from daily life, just as I used to do six years ago.

If this means that I’ll bore some people or raise a few eyebrows, then so be it. I hope you’ll stick around. If you don’t, I will totally understand. Thank you for reading (seriously, thank you)!

skyline

 

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know what you mean. The blogging genre has definitely gone through a transformation over the years, from online diary to people pleaser (perhaps a somewhat subjective blanket term, but I believe that there are many half-truths out there). I’ve tried several times to go back to blogging, always with good intentions but it comes across as too fake, and the real stuff is too personal for the public space.

    • I feel exactly the same but I’m at a point where I’m tired of being afraid to do what I want to do just in case I step over someone’s toes, or for fear of being judged or criticised. I don’t intend to write anything I wouldn’t feel comfortable talking about to a friend, but I’m tired of watching my back too. I wish it was still 2010 but since I don’t have a time machine, the other option (bar quitting) is to just go ahead and be as true to myself as I can be (something I’ve always tried to do anyway).

  2. Thanks for this! It’s something I struggle with every time I want to publish a post- just how much to share, knowing that many people are reading, following and waiting. I have moments when I say I might stop but then I think of all the good and the people that have reached out and said thank you- and it means a lot. Although silent at the moment (I have no energy to write) I do wait for the inspiration and motivation to write. We cannot please everyone, but we can do what makes us happy!

    • Exactly! At my age, I am very aware of the fact that I cannot please everyone (and I’m not even interested in doing so). I just want to do what makes me happy, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone.

  3. I, for one, am ever so grateful you’ve shared your experiences with us readers. i have always been a firm believer in that; sharing our stories, our journeys, we could, unknowingly, be giving support to the listeners, the readers.

    To this very day, I still look forward to your posts. However, admittedly, these days I wear a duchenne smile even before reading the new post. Having had the opportunity of knowing you for all these years, I am able to see the new posts in light of yesterday’s experiences, which is, I feel, a privilege.

    i am very happy to read that you went to choir practice – it’s where I met you, afterall- It brings fond memories of the eye contact we used to have, the brilliant, ever so subtle, non verbal communication about; clothes, music, heels, bad pitches, anything which could and eventually would distract us from the Sunday sermon.

    Thank you for letting us be part of your life, Maur.
    Thank you for being a friend

    With love
    xxxx

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

