Of supermoons and change

In the words of Heraclitus, panta rhei (everything flows). I spent four years studying Ancient Greek and reading the great philosophers in their original language, but only now, 20 years later, am I starting to grasp some of the concepts I spent sleepless nights trying to understand.

I won’t go into the exact meaning of the words of Heraclitus, but the concept of the world being in a constant state of flux makes more sense to me now than it ever did before. Yesterday I wrote on Instagram that the supermoon has coincided with a lot of changes, both in the world at large and personally. I don’t know yet what changes my family will go through in the near future, but I have a strong feeling that we will be in a very different place (maybe even literally) in a year or two. As for the world, I keep hoping that we are heading towards a better future.

I don’t mean to be vague. I am just writing what I feel, knowing that in a couple of years I will read this post and nod knowingly.

Do you feel like we (or you) are on the verge of major changes? Do you believe that the moon’s proximity to our planet has anything to do with it?

ben-lawry-supermoon-rising
Supermoon over Albuquerque, New Mexico. Photo by Ben Lawry.

 

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

