A brief history of our advent calendars

There are few things that inspire me more than people who have an idea and make it a reality. I married one of those people and like to surround myself with others. My friend Ana is one of them. I have known her for many years and even did her wedding makeup, but only recently did I realise how creative she is.

I’ve always known her as a very intelligent, well read and kind person who liked to dabble in crafts. Recently, however, she started a Facebook group called Doodlehead through which she launches weekly crafty challenges for parents to enjoy with their children and I had to add a couple of virtues to her already long list.

If you’ve read here for some time, you’ll know that I love creating Christmas traditions with my children and one of my favourite ones is the advent calendar. I still buy the cartoon character ones stuffed with chocolate (I still want my children to like me!) but every year I try to come up with something different for the girls to enjoy the countdown to the most magical day of the year. I rummaged a little through my archives and found these (heavily filtered) Instagram photos of Christmases past and wanted to share them with you.

I am writing this after having hung this year’s calendar, safe in the knowledge that I won’t be spending hours coming up with Christmassy activities for at least another five years!

advent-calendar-2012
2012. This was the first year I had included little notes relating to Christmas and a few activities to enjoy together as a family.
advent-calendar-2013
2013. I remember being very late on all things Christmas and I rustled this ‘ticker’ up in a few minutes. We were going to be on holiday for a part of December, so I skipped the activities altogether.
advent-calendar-2014
2014. Ivy was born one week before Christmas and I went into Christmas prep overdrive all through November. I wanted to make sure Maia and Robin had as normal a Christmas as possible, considering their lives were about to change, so I prepared 24 fun activities and made sure they carried through with them even when I was in hospital giving birth.
advent-calendar-2015
2015. Activities again (plus a small chocolate each). We’re using these same Lidl pockets this year, but with the Doodlehead activity cards.
doodlehead-advent-cards
This year’s Doodlehead activity cards. So much nicer and neater than my scribbled notes!

Note: this post is in no way sponsored by Doodlehead. I just really like Ana’s work and hope you will support her too. 

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

